Town of War #Q116

The beach is really distant, so we are content with our lake.
Biriyani and bajjis fill us up, so we don’t need your steak.
A thousand years ago here, the mighty Pallavas waged wars.
Till date, the battle continues with bikes, buses, and cars.

Note: Porur, a little place in sub-urban Chennai, is where I lived all my life till I moved to BengaLuru in 2011. “Porur”, which is split as “pOr + oor” in Tamil, literally means ‘place of war’. 600-116 is Porur’s PIN code. So, 116 will always stay close to my heart, reminding me of my first home.

Leave a Reply

